Leave Me Alone by New Order (1983)

04Apr07

It’s amazing that this track was released in 1983. Think: Whirly Girl by Oxo, Puttin’ on the Ritz by Taco, Our House by Madness, Billy Jean and Beat It by Michael Jackson, Little Red Corvette and 1999 and Delirious by Prince, She Blinded Me With Science by Thomas Dolby, Tainted Love by Soft Cell, Der Kommissar by After the Fire, Girls Just Want to Have Fun by Cyndi Lauper, Hungry Like the Wolf and Rio by Duran Duran, Major Tom Coming Home by Peter Schilling and more. It was a good summer.

I was 13 and so, of course, there’s probably good reasons why I remember it. It was a summer of eternal optimism, becoming an adult (well, sort of), and riding my bike around the streets of a town of 2,000.

But I had no idea that my favorite (favourite) band of all-time, in the UK, was producing this. In the same way that it’s hard to believe that the Velvet Underground’s watershed album was released in 1967, I’m still amazed that Power Corruption and Lies was released in 1983. In retrospect, it seems so far ahead of its time.

I loved the album from the time I first heard it; a close friend from H.S. got it for me for graduation in 1988 and I’ve loved it since. Leave Me Alone was a favorite but only recently, in revisiting my “roots” in electronic music, did I come back across this track. I was astonished when, after unearthing it myself, I heard it at 230 Fifth last summer. Utterly hopeless and hopeful, this is majestic New Order, my favorite from the album, and definitely a top 5 from New Order of all time

Tune in here.

No Responses Yet to “Leave Me Alone by New Order (1983)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

