The top 20 social networks

27Apr07

I posted a week or 2 back about the biggest Music 2.0 websites. Some of the results were surprising.

One of the biggest — imeem — is really a social network (as is Last.fm), and I wondered how it stacked up against other social networking sites, which frequently also have some music component. So I did another exercise on Compete.com to measure the top 20 social networks, including blogging networks. The objective was to identify key sites (or domains) that provide a general, external-facing homepage for internet users. For many, this is a blog. (I also think the distinction between blogs and social networks will lessen over time, but that’s another topic.)

I’ve included LinkedIn as well as Last.fm and imeem. Otoh, for the moment at least, I’ve excluded verticals with social elements that ‘play well’ with social networks (e.g. YouTube, Flickr). I also realize that some comps may not really be apples-and-apples. For instance, TypePad ranks highly because many well-trafficked blogs use it, even though the sheer number of personal ‘homepages’ (in the sense above) is probably lower than that at, say, Bolt.com. Fwiw, I left off Twitter but it would have ended up 20th on the list, just ahead of Virb (which has got to be the best-looking site on the list).

So here’s the top 20, followed by trend graphs (and please let me know of the networks I’ve overlooked, especially those based outside the States, so I can update next time ’round):

  1. MySpace
  2. Blogger
  3. Facebook
  4. TypePad
  5. Xanga
  6. imeem
  7. WordPress
  8. Bolt
  9. LiveJournal
  10. Tagged
  11. Bebo
  12. Hi5
  13. BlackPlanet
  14. Last.fm
  15. Piczo
  16. Vox
  17. LinkedIn
  18. Orkut
  19. TagWorld
  20. Virb

3 Responses to “The top 20 social networks”

  1. Oops. Forgot Friendster. It’s ranked just after Last.fm and before Piczo.

  2. 2 kbettadapur

    “I also think the distinction between blogs and social networks will lessen over time, but that’s another topic”

    I find your view very interesting! Not sure if I agree with it. (But, if eventually that is how the market evolves, no skin off my back).

    I also found that you have left out relationship networks (eHarmony etc.) from the list. I agree that relationship networking is a totally different genre.

    But, I am surprised you did not include meetup (http://www.meetup.com), tribe (http://www.tribe.net) and cylive (http://www.cylive.com) in your list. Did you leave these out of the list for any specific reasons?

  3. Hi Kiran,

    I’ve blogged in past a bit about the first point – main thing in my mind is that people have an online identity. Where they chose to have their ‘homebase’ shouldn’t matter and various widget/features should make a blog and a profile (or some combination in between as with Vox and Xanga, for example) not much different over time.

    Good point re the relationship/dating networks. If people use these profiles as their primary face online it could make sense.

    I’d not heard of cylive but will check it out (any relation to Cyworld?). I’ll add Tribe for sure, good catch. I suppose Meetup makes sense too, esp if I’ve included LinkedIn.

    Thx!


Leave a Reply

